Jonny Brownlee and Ashleigh Gentle Win 2018 Beijing International Triathlon
August 24, 2017

Five-Time ITU World Champion Javier Gomez Leads Pro Field At Des Moines Escape Triathlon on September 3

Olympians Jarrod Shoemaker and Sarah Haskins, Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Champion Lauren Goss and More


DES MOINES – (August 24, 2017) Premier Event Management, America’s preeminent multi-sport race director and organizer, today announced an elite field of professional triathletes are set to compete in the 2017 Des Moines Escape Triathlon, taking place on Sunday, September 3. Five-time ITU World Champion Javier Gomez leads a field of more than 20 elite pros set to compete for the $20,000 prize purse including Olympians Jarrod Shoemaker and Sarah Haskins, 2017 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Champion Lauren Goss, 2017 IRONMAN 70.3 Pan American Champion Kevin Collington and more.


“I’m excited to race in one of the new Escape Series triathlons,” said five-time ITU World Champion Javier Gomez. "I love to race non-drafting triathlons in the U.S., and I have great memories of racing several times in Des Moines. I hope my hard training sessions on my time trial bike to prepare for the IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship will pay off for this race as well.”


The pros will join triathletes ranging in age from 6 to 77 years of age for this annual race. New this year, the Des Moines Escape Triathlon will serve as a qualifying race for the 2018 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon. The top three finishers per Olympic age group will receive coveted entry slots into the iconic San Francisco race. First place finishers in each age group will also win a complimentary race entry.


Professional triathletes set to compete in the 2017 Des Moines Escape Triathlon include:



Elliot Bach

Casey Bateman

Rodolphe Von Berg

Kevin Collington

Robbie Deckard

Daniel Feeney

Javier Gomez (Olympian)

Andrew Keily

Jackson Laundry

Alex Libin

Garrick Loewen

Michael Lori

Steve Mantell

Andrew Mueller

Michael Phinney

Jarrod Shoemaker (Olympian)

Nicholas Sterghos

Nicholas Vandermolen

Jason West

Timothy Winslow



Kaitlin Donner

Lauren Goss

Sarah Haskins (Olympian)

Carly Johann

Heather Lendway


“Des Moines has been a special place with regards to racing for me, and I’m thrilled to be back this year racing in the Escape Series,” said Olympian Sarah Haskins. “I have raced there seven times in the past 10 years. I love the course, and the city. I look forward to getting back into racing after maternity leave.”


The challenging Olympic distance course of the Des Moines Escape Triathlon will take participants on a 1.5k swim through Gray’s Lake, located in the heart of the city; a 40k bike ride through historic Des Moines; and then a final, 10k run that will finish at the Iowa State Capitol. Formerly the Hy-Vee Triathlon, the all-new Des Moines Escape Triathlon will offer an action-packed weekend including both Olympic and Sprint distance races, as well as the Des Moines Tri Expo. Registration is still open, please visit


The Escape Triathlon Series consists of the following races: Philadelphia Escape Triathlon – June 24-25, Des Moines Escape Triathlon – September 2-3, Nation’s Triathlon – September 10, Lake Geneva Escape Triathlon – September 23 and New Orleans Escape Triathlon – October 1. Each race serves as a qualifier for the 2018 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon. The race series boasts an Escape Series Leaderboard which will be updated regularly on the official Escape Series website (, tracking the progress of the pros via a point system, as they vie for the 18 professional men and 18 professional women race slots. A total prize purse of $180,000 will be awarded to race winners throughout the Escape Series.


2017 Des Moines Escape Triathlon sponsors include TYR Sport, Catch Des Moines, Dimond Bikes, Gatorade, Hiland Dairy Foods, Hubbell Realty, Prairie Meadows, and Velofix. The Des Moines Escape Triathlon is owned and produced by Premier Event Management. For additional information, visit or follow on, @EscapeSeriesTri on Twitter and @EscapeSeriesTri on Instagram.



DeeDee Taft,

Shelbi Okumura,

Spin Communications


Viewport width =